Brew Review: St. Rogue Red Ale

22 Feb

Brew: Dry Hopped St. Rogue Red Ale

Brewed by: Rogue Ales (Ashland, OR)

Style: Red Ale (5.1% ABV)

Let me start off by saying that I am a fan of red ales and a fan of Rogue brews.  After selecting this bottle off the shelf at the Ale Jail, I was pretty excited to see what it had to offer.  It had a nice rich deep ruby/red color when I poured it into the glass, I was happy about this.  It smelled sweet, which in my mind is how a red ale should smell, and I was pretty excited about that.  On a second whiff, I noticed those hops that they are talking about in the name where it mentions, “dry hopped.”  This was pretty neat.  Not only is it a red ale that is nice and malty, but its got a nice hop section that sings out from the background and if you really think about it, will step up to the plate show you what it can do.

It went down really smooth and was a sweet the whole way through.  It’s a cool 5.1% so not something that will sit you down and m ake you stay there, but it’s a solid session beer that keeps its flavor after it warms.

For all those who enjoy a solid red this is a good choice.  Rogue has put out some excellent beers and this is another you can add to the list.  The only side I didn’t really get that I expected out of it was it told me it was dry hopped, which usually leads me to believe there will be a bigger hop presence.  The hops showed up in the aroma but they sort of lost their presence in the flavor and finish of the brew, not to say they weren’t there but i was expecting more.  Oh well, this one is pretty damn good otherwise so I won’t make too big a fuss over it.  I only wish I had like 10 more instead of just this one.

Final Grade:  B+

Leave a Reply

