Brew Review: Bitter Brewer

31 May

Brew: Bitter Brewer

Brewed by: Surly Brewing Co. (Brooklyn Center, MN)

Style: English Bitter (4.0% ABV)

 

Ahh a Surly Seasonal, haven’t had one of these since Abrasive.  I didn’t know much about Bitter Brewer as I haven’t had it before and didn’t really know what to expect.  But knowing Surly beers I knew I was in for a treat.

The can produced a nice dark amber color with a nice thick head.  There was a definite orange hue to the brew as well, I can see why they chose an orange profile for the can.  It was a little opaque, not very cloudy though.  It had a nice spicy hop aroma, grassy smells wafted up to my nose.  I always love the way Surly’s beers smell.

The taste followed the aroma to a T.  There was a spicy hop blend with a nice malt presence.  There was a bitter presence, but the bitterness was calmed down by the malts that were looming in the background.  I think this is my first experience to an “English bitter” so I don’t really have anything to compare or contrast it with.

I really enjoyed it, Surly always puts a their own twist on all the beers they produce.  A great beer to enjoy on a warm summer evening as its 4% won’t keep you away from work in the morning and you can enjoy a couple, maybe 3.  On a side note, the “Surly Bill” was signed into law recently which means more Surly for everyone, I don’t think anybody is going to complain or have a problem with that.

 

Final Grade: B+

Leave a Reply

