Brew Review: Stone Pale Ale

31 May

Brew: Stone Pale Ale

Brewed by: Stone Brewing Co. (Escondido CA)

Style: Pale Ale (5.4% ABV)

 

Its finally here!  Stone Brewing has finally opened up its lines of trade into MN.  I have heard rumblings about how their Arrogant Bastard is one of the best ever and their yearly special beers are unbelievable.  So I have finally taken advantage of the fact that these west coast delights are now at my local liquor stores.  I picked up the pale ale as that is usually a decent beer to start off with when trying new breweries wares.

The pale ale poured out a clear brown darker amber color, little tint of red in there as well.  From all the hype about Stone’s extra hoppy brews this ones aroma did not really jump out at me.  It was definitely malty, more than I expected.  Maybe they left all the hops for their more daring and experimental beers.

The hops showed up a little more in the taste, a little hoppy bite that was satisfying and basically in the ballpark for what a pale ale should have.  It wasn’t as crisp and I had hoped as well.  It wasn’t a hoppy mess as some Stone brews have a tendency to be.  Stone sort of held back on this one I think.  I was a little disappointed as I was hoping for more of a distinctive overall beer.

Not a bad pale ale, the brewers at Stone obviously know what they are doing, I might have chosen the wrong beer from this brewery to start off with and I think I should have set my expectations aside and just appreciated the brew for what it was worth.

 

Final Grade: B

Leave a Reply

