Brew Review: Sublimely Self-Righteous

1 Jun

Brew: Sublimely Self-Righteous

Brewed by: Stone Brewing Co. (Escondido, CA)

Style: American Black Ale (8.7% ABV)

So the first Stone brew I reviewed, the Pale Ale,  I expected a bit much from, it was a solid beer no doubts about it.  Going into the Sublimely Self-Righteous I tried to keep my mind in the moment and not think about what I wanted from the beer.  I think it worked because I have found a beer that will drink again and again.

It pours out a dark black, very porter like.  There was a little red around the edges, which gave it a little twist in the appearance.  For the most part, this one was black and not much else.  It poured a bigger tan head, which was very pleasing to my eyes.

Wow, the aroma.  For how dark this beer was, I was not expecting the hops to come lashing out at me in the nose.  This one had an extra-spicy hop scent.  It was glorious, there was just enough of a sweet presence behind the scenes to take the very bitter edge off of the hops that dominated the smell but this one had enough power to sit you down for a minute to take another deep breath with your nose deep in the glass.

The taste was amazing.  It had a creamy thicker feel to it, which was even more unique.  Most hoppy beers are sharp and crisp but this one had enough roasted grains to create a little pillow for the hop mountain to rest on.  With that being said, there were still plenty of hops to go around in the taste.  A nice hop blast right away led into a bitter finish.  The spicy hops really dominated with their bitter aromas and tastes.

This beer blew my socks off, I finished the bomber and immediately wanted another to be waiting for me in my fridge.  The 8.7% is hidden better than any black/IPA I can remember.  Granted if I had more than 1 I might have to take a small nap to dream about the greatness I had just experienced.  This is a brew that is going to be a regular in my fridge for a long, long time.  This was what I was wanting and more from Stone and they delivered in a way that I couldn’t have imagined.

Final Grade: A+

2 Responses to “Brew Review: Sublimely Self-Righteous”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brew Review: Hop in the Dark « Average Bro's Brew Review - July 27, 2011

    […] Series,” this brew explores the Cascade hop in a black IPA form. Needless to say, after trying Stone’s Sublimely Self-Righteous Ale I was very excited about this one. Could only keep it in the fridge for a week and part of that […]

  2. Brew Review: Beer Hop Breakfast « Average Bro's Brew Review - November 12, 2012

    […] your tongue but presents nice sharp flavors.  I wouldn’t go as far as to call it as hoppy as an American black ale but with a bit more it could come […]

Leave a Reply

