Brew Review: Post Road Pumpkin

15 Dec

Brew: Post Road Pumpkin Ale

Brewed by: Brooklyn Brewery (Brooklyn, NY)

Style: Pumpkin Ale (5.0% ABV)

 

I came into this brew with a little apprehension, I am usually not a fan of pumpkin ales as I see the spices as being present but then taking away from the beer itself. Pumpkin ales try to hard I think in my eyes. I usually don’t bother with them but I needed to fill out a mix and match 6-pack and this one was pretty cheap, so I went for it.

The beer poured out a dark orange, a little amber color with some red and brown swirled in there as well. It was definitely a pumpkin brew by how orange it came out, that was pretty close to the real deal. There was also a small off-white head that showed up, nothing to impressive by any means.

The smell was typical of most pumpkin beers, the spices and sweetness that you would expect to smell when making a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. Although this one isn’t the fresh out of the oven good smell that a pumpkin pie usually warrants, its more like an uncooked mess that needs to cooked for 2 hours before its edible.

The taste was in one word, bad. Let me start off by saying I might have gotten a bad bottle, I am hoping I got a bad bottle. Right off the start, it was a little bitter, then those pumpkin spices came back into play but they only sort of floated on by and didn’t leave much of an impression. The beer itself was a little hollow. Then came the weird funky taste that I don’t want to have again. This is the part where I think I got a bad bottle, there was something that was just flat out gross about this beer lurking in the depths. I was also tempted to dump it out but being the recent college grad that I am, I couldn’t go through with that sort of blasphemy.

The weird off-taste was not good. This beer overall was not good. There was nothing about it that I really had any good things to say. On the parts that didn’t taste offensive from the get go, they were just hollow tasting parts to a bland beer. The only problem with knowing if I got a bad bottle is that I will probably never pick this one up again since this one bottle was so bad I don’t want to try another.

 

Final Grade: D

Leave a Reply

