Aside

Brew Review: Beer Geek Brunch Weasel

29 Dec

Brew: Beer Geek Brunch Weasel

Brewed by: Mikkeller (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Style: Double/Imperial Stout (10.9% ABV)

Another brew shared on the holy weekend that contained Darkness Day. Shared once again with those same two special friend from Chicago. This was brought up from the Chi and was apparently a little older than I had thought, I believe that it was picked up early in 2011 like January or February if I remember right. With that being said the coffee aspect might have been a little past its best date but I wasn’t complaining in the least. You should probably just read Mikkeller’s website on it to see what its really made out of since that is one of the more interesting parts of this beer. On with the beer.

The Brunch poured out a thick deep oily black color. Not much light escapes from this black hole of a beer. It also has a thick brown head that is impressive in itself. A great looking stout that you can tell houses some interesting flavors and hidden gems.

The smell is full of coffee, apparently the age didn’t affect that part very much. There is also some chocolate in there as well. The stout bitterness also comes though as this is probably a dry stout that will offer some bitterness. I also get a faint wiff of some plastic smells as well. It sort of smelled a little like a brand new happy meal toy right from the packaging. I don’t know why I kept thinking that but I figured I would throw it out there since I kept thinking it. In the end that wasn’t much of the smell but I picked it up.

The first taste was full of chocolate, and dark chocolate at that. It was very smooth, coffee glides over the tongue and down. It was full and complex. There wasn’t a ton of coffee, which was surprising since the main attraction was it was brewed with what I’ve heard is the most expensive coffee in the world. Some story about how weasels eat these coffee beans and some fool goes around picking up the weasels poo and then puts it into coffee and then this beer. Don’t know how I feel about that, but hey it tasted good so I guess it was a good idea after all. It wasn’t as bitter as I was expecting either. I know that there were oats used in the brewing process so that probably added to the creamy body and the lessening of the bitterness, at least to my perception. There was a little bit of potable warming as it warmed up and as I drank more of it.

I don’t really know how I want to grade this one. On one hand it was a good solid stout but the plastic flavor was weird and it wasn’t as chocolaty or coffee-like as I had expected after reading about it and hearing people talk about it. I wasn’t unhappy with it, maybe it would have been a little better if it was a little younger. I don’t know.

Final Grade: B+/A- (I don’t really know)

Leave a Reply

