Aside

Brew Review: Tasty Waves

29 Dec

Brew: Tasty Waves Pale Ale

Brewed by: Half Acre Brewing Co. (Chicago, IL)

Style: American Pale Ale (5.0% ABV)

 

My other acquisition on my trip to the Half Acre brewery in Chicago. I got the growler of Mr. Ouroboros and then a 22 ounce bomber of this brew. After finishing off the growler I was hoping that this one was better than the other. Too bad there were only 22oz of these ones and only growlers of the other.

The Tasty Waves poured a clear orange tangerine color. Tasty looking indeed. Like marmalade skies in fact. Just seeing the labeling on this makes me think of some psychedelic ’60’s pop/rock song so I’m running with that. The one shortfall was that there wasn’t a ton of head on my pour. I don’t know if it was just under-carbonated or what but it didn’t bring much out. Not much lacing down the glass either, I was hoping for a little more, but I guess I can’t have everything.

The aroma is also tasty, its hoppy with fruity hop aromas bursting out. Sweet fruits that bring up thoughts of tropical starbursts. Mangoes, tangerines, citrus and some piney scents on the end. This great hop aroma is balanced by some bitterness and some grassy hop smells as well as a faint malt background.

The taste is bitter to start, the hops are definitely present. I don’t really get anything more than that after the initial bitter touch. There isn’t a great balance by the malts, I could have used a couple more to complement the hop profile. The beer is a little bit lighter, which I think was what the brewers were going for. It is supposed to be a more session-type beer, meaning you can enjoy more than one and still be coherent enough to carry a conversation. That must be why they are only putting it in 22oz bombers.

For the most part the look and smell of the beer were the highlights, which is a little disappointing since I had to drink 22 ounces of it after all. For its purpose, a session beer, this was spot on. It was definitely one I could enjoy a few of and have a good time with some good friends. I think this would be a great beer to utilize with a good burger or other pub foods. It wouldn’t dominate the food and if you could find the right combination could complement something quite nicely. Couldn’t tell you what that meal would be since I’m not a food expert but I am going out on a limb and saying it has potential. A solid beer but not one I would search out with a passion again.

 

Final Grade: B

Leave a Reply

