Brew Review: Apple Ale

3 Oct

Brew: Apple Ale (Thumbprint Series)

Brewed by: New Glarus Brewing Co. (New Glarus, WI)

Style: Fruit Ale with apples (4.00% ABV)

 

My first expedition into the New Glarus Thumbprint series.  Excited for this because I see it as a better version of Tyranena’s Brewers Gone Wild series and those were OK.  New Glarus has so much recognition for being an exceptional brewery that their brewers unleashed and creating exciting new things can only go well.  This was also recommended by a friend and I was able to find a bottle in my possession a while later.  I’ll be honest though, I have not been a huge fan of fruity beers since entering into this sudsy world so I am a little hesitant about really enjoying this one.

The Apple Ale poured out a very clear golden color, basically looked like a lighter glass of apple juice.  There was a fair amount of carbonation which gave birth to a solid sized head and a glass that looked more like champagne than anything.  If anything it was a good looking beer.

The second I cracked this bottle I could smell apples.  Apples, apples, and more apples.  Smelled like a cider mixed with an uncooked apple pie.  A faint hint of cinnamon but mostly loaded with apples.  The cider comparison would be the most accurate I would say.  With this apple heavy aroma I was expecting some sort of apple-like malt liquor bomb.  Something way sweet and sort of sour with booze that wasn’t balanced, I was apprehensive about tasting this one.

Needless to say I was wrong, very wrong.  Upon first sip this brew tasted like apple juice.  It was sparkling apple juice at that which made it even more pleasant.  The apple taste was really all I could detect.  It was light in the mouth, crisp and very refreshing.   It is thankfully a sweet apple and not a sour one like the green ones, I hate those.  Red delicious apples are my fav and I imagine that they use something similar to that one if not it exactly. 

The only downside to this brew was how drinkable it really was.  You could honest sit around and drink 10 of these and think your just sipping on apple juice and then try to stand up and realize you’ve had 10 and have to sit right back down.  This could be a dangerous brew.  The 4.0% ABV is unconfirmed since I didn’t see it explicitly on the label, although I am hoping it is only 4% for those who buy a case and then realize about an hour later that about 12 of them are gone.   Nothing like I have ever had before but I would seek this out again if I knew they were brewing it again.

 

Final Grade: A

Leave a Reply

